Australian Open 2022: draw, results, schedule, how to watch, broadcast, live updates, scores, tv channel

Getty Images

The first Grand Slam tournament of the year, the Australian Open, is less than a week away. More than 60 of the world’s best tennis players are set to compete at Melbourne Park, including Novak Djokovic, the controversial No. 1 seed and reigning men’s singles champion.

Djokovic, the world’s highest ranked male tennis player, was detained for four days after entering Australia on January 5 without a valid medical exemption from the COVID-19 vaccine. The Serb also added incorrect information to his travel declaration form, which could be grounds for deportation and criminal charges.

On Wednesday, Djokovic is still expected to compete for a record-breaking 21st Grand Slam title.

Last year’s women’s champion Naomi Osaka will defend her Australian Open title as the No.13 seed. World No.1 – and Australian – Ash Barty is favorite to win the women’s singles title this year.

Key players who will not take part in the 2022 Australian Open are Serena Williams, Dominic Thiem, Roger Federer, Milos Raonic, Kei Nishikori and Stan Wawrinka. Andy Murray, however, returns to the tournament as a wild card after recovering from major hip surgery.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2022 Australian Open, starting with the schedule:


  • Men’s and women’s singles, drawn on January 13

  • Opening matches, January 17

  • Quarter-finals, January 25-26

  • Women’s semi-finals, January 26

  • Men’s semi-finals, January 26-27

  • Women’s singles final, January 29

  • Men’s doubles final, January 29

  • Men’s singles final, January 30

  • Women’s doubles final, January 30

(Note: US viewers may see each stage of the tournament a day earlier than expected due to the time difference)

Men’s single ranking

  1. Novak Djokovic

  2. Daniel Medvedev

  3. Alexander Zverev

  4. Stefanos Tsitsipas

  5. Andrei Rublev

  6. Rafael Nadal

  7. Matteo berrettini

  8. Casper ruud

  9. Felix Auger Aliassime

  10. Hubert Hurkacz

  11. Sinner jannik

  12. Cameron Norrie

  13. Diego schwartzman

  14. Denis chapovalov

  15. Roberto Bautista Agut

  16. Cristian Garin

  17. Gaël Monfils

  18. Aslan Karatsev

  19. Pablo Carreno Busta

  20. Taylor fritz

  21. Nikoloz Basilashvili

  22. John isner

  23. Reilly Opelka

  24. Dan Evans

  25. Lorenzo Sonego

  26. Grigor Dimitrov

  27. Marin Cilic

  28. Karen khachanov

  29. Ugo Humbert

  30. Lloyd harris

  31. Carlos alcaraz

  32. Alex de Minaur

Women’s single ranking

  1. Ashleigh Barty

  2. Aryna sabalenka

  3. Garbine Muguruza

  4. Barbora Krejcikova

  5. Maria sakkari

  6. Anett kontaveit

  7. Iga swiatek

  8. Paula Badosa

  9. Ons Jabeur

  10. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova

  11. Sofia kenin

  12. Elena Rybakina

  13. Naomi Osaka

  14. Simona halep

  15. Elina Svitolina

  16. Angelique Kerber

  17. Emma Raducanu

  18. Coco gauff

  19. Elise mertens

  20. Petra kvitova

  21. Jessica pegula

  22. Belinda Bencic

  23. Leyla fernandez

  24. Victoria Azarenka

  25. Daria kasatkina

  26. Jelena ostapenko

  27. Danielle Collins

  28. Veronika kudermetova

  29. Tamara Zidansek

  30. Camila Giorgi

  31. Marketa Vondrousova

  32. Sara Sorribes Tormo

How to watch the 2022 Australian Open

  • Appointment: January 17-30
  • Time: Varied
  • Site: Melbourne, Australia
  • TV: ESPN, tennis channel
  • Flux: fuboTV (try for free)

Comments are closed.