How to watch, nominees, winners


When you buy through our links, Insider may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

  • The 2021 Game Awards were broadcast live on December 9 from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.
  • Awards were presented in more than 25 categories and the show featured new trailers for upcoming games.
  • The big winner of the night was It Takes Two, which took home the Game of the Year award.

The 2021 Game Awards honored the best video games of the year and unveiled several world premiere trailers during a live ceremony at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. The event was broadcast live on multiple platforms and you can now watch a replay of the show on YouTube, Twitch, Twitter, and Facebook Live.

Electronic Arts’ co-op adventure It Takes Two took home the award for Best Multiplayer Game, Best Family Game and Game of the Year, the show’s most prestigious award. Bethesda’s Deathloop took home awards for Best Game Direction and Best Artistic Design. Other winners included independent release Kena: Bridge of Spirits and Forza Horizon 5 from Microsoft.

The Game Awards featured the first trailers for tons of games, including Sonic Frontiers, featuring Sonic the Hedgehog, a Wonder Woman game from Warner Bros., Star Wars Eclipse, a story-driven adventure, and Alan Wake II, a following more than 10 years in the manufacturing. Highly anticipated titles like Elden Ring, Horizon Forbidden West, and Forspoken also featured new footage.

The Game Awards also included trailers for upcoming video game adaptations to come to film and television. “Sonic the Hedgehog 2” has unveiled its first trailer, and Paramount Plus has offered a first look at the upcoming “Halo” TV series in 2022.

The awards were given out in over 20 categories, including Game of the Year, Best Game Direction, Best Storytelling, and genre-specific awards like Best Action Game and Best Fighting Game. You can find a full breakdown of the nominees below. The winners of each category are indicated in bold.

Game Awards 2021 winners and nominees


Comments are closed.